Spelling Bee on Feb. 11

Grab your dictionaries, everyone. How do you spell aardvark? How about perseverance?

The annual Lincoln Public Schools Spelling Bee is Saturday, Feb. 11, at Culler Middle School, 5201 O Street. Doors open at 7:45 a.m.; competition begins at 8:30 a.m.

The Spelling Bee is open to all LPS middle school students, grades six through eight. Registration forms are available in middle schools, but registrations are also accepted the morning of the event. The event is free and open to the general public. The annual Spelling Bee is sponsored by LPS and the Lincoln Journal Star newspaper.

2003 Mohammed Ali Mickle 6th grade
2002 Cathy Sypal Lux 6th grade
2001 Alexander Lin Lux 6th grade
2000 Noah Weiss Pound 7th grade
1999 Will Fruhwirth Lux 7th grade
1998 Arthur Reeves Culler 7th grade
1997 Eric Schmidt Lux 8th grade
1996 Bryan Gordon Park 8th grade
1995 Joey Gourlay Prescott 6th grade
1994 Laura Dewitt Pound 7th grade
1993 Kayce Kahl Meadow Lane 5th grade
1992 C. J. Brown Irving 8th grade
1991 C. J. Brown Irving 7th grade
1990 Becky Grossman East 7th grade
1989 Heather Farris Pound 8th grade
1988 Cynthia Piggee Pound 7th grade

Published: February 2, 2011, Updated: February 20, 2012