Southwest wins 10th straight Science Olympiad

Lincoln Southwest High School won its 10th straight Nebraska Science Olympiad Tournament April 17 at the University of Nebraska-Lincoln East Campus. It’s also the 12th time in 13 years that Southwest has placed first in the competition.

Science Olympiad is a nationwide competition in which students compete in 23 events that cover earth science, biology, chemistry, physics and engineering. It’s designed to increase a student’s interest in STEM fields and provide recognition for outstanding achievement in team events. 

Team members were: Elaine Bai, Helen Bai, Nathan Bischoff, Cameron Coen, Anastasia Eriksen, Kyla Kubik, Kenji Nakagawa, Molly Nora, Ben O’Brien, Molly O’Brien, Lars Pedersen, Rohan Tatineni, Blaine Traudt and Olivia Ulrich. 

Individual state titles were won by Elaine Bai and Cameron Coen in Astronomy; Kenji Nakagawa and Ben O’Brien in Chem Lab; Cameron Coen and Helen Bai in Dynamic Planet; Lars Pederson, Blaine Traudt and Rohan Tatineni in Experimental Design; and Elain Bai and Helen Bai in Fossils. 

Southwest won medals in 11 of 13 events.

Published: April 29, 2021, Updated: April 29, 2021

Not pictured: Kenji Nakagawa, Olivia Ulrich and Anastasia Eriksen