Two from LPS honored with national teaching award

Two Lincoln Public Schools teachers have been awarded the highest honor bestowed by the U.S. government for K-12 science, technology, engineering, mathematics and computer science teaching.

Rochelle Settles, a science teacher at Fredstrom Elementary School, and Alicia Davis, a math teacher at Scott Middle School, recently traveled to Washington, D.C., to receive the Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching. While there, they attended an awards ceremony at the Yates Auditorium at the U.S. Department of Interior and an awards dinner at the Kennedy Center for Performing Arts; toured the White House; and participated in multiple professional development events.

Settles, now in her 25th year with LPS, said winning the award brings a “deeply personal sense of accomplishment.”

“The thought of being recognized for doing what you do every day to promote learning is an honor. I have spent my career teaching and learning simultaneously, always seeking new opportunities to better myself in the classroom,” Settles said. “This award is a validation of the time and effort put into educating students. It reminds me of the tremendous responsibility I must uphold - the standards of excellence for which I've been honored.”

Davis, who has taught with LPS for seven years and 18 years overall, credited her mentors for fostering her passion for teaching.

“This award reflects their investment in me and my commitment to pass along their legacy to the next generation of teachers and students,” Davis said. “This recognition is also a testament to my students, who inspire me to pursue excellence every day. It is an honor to be included in this community of distinguished educators.” 

The awards were established by Congress in 1983. The president may recognize up to 108 exemplary teachers each year. Since 1983, 19 LPS teachers have been honored.

Published: November 7, 2019, Updated: November 7, 2019

Alicia Davis, top photo, and Rochelle Settles were recently honored with a national teaching award.