Southwest wins ninth straight Science Olympiad

Lincoln Southwest High School won its ninth title in a row at the Nebraska Science Olympiad, held April 27 at the University of Nebraska-Lincoln East Campus.

All six Lincoln Public Schools high schools participated, as did the LPS Science Focus Program. Overall, 35 teams from across the state competed. LPS placed first in 19 of 22 events. Lincoln East High School placed second and the Science Focus Program placed third.

Scott Middle School placed fourth in the middle school division. Irving and Mickle middle schools also competed.

Members of the Southwest team are Sydney Hatcliff, Kate Berzonsky, Blake Callahan, Elaine Bai, Kenji Nakagawa, Ben O’Brien, Lars Pedersen, Rohan Tatineni and Nate Bischoff, with coaches Bruce Bullerdiek, Greg Cooper and Peter Stone.

Southwest now advances to the National Science Olympiad tournament, held June 1 at Cornell University in Ithaca, New York.

Published: May 7, 2019, Updated: May 7, 2019